Apple, Beetroot and Hazelnut Salad With a Super-Smoothie

Okay, so I never get sick. But right now I have the worst flu ever. All Summer I’ve been loading fruit and vegetables into my body, but since I’ve been back in college I’ve been slacking off. And now I’m paying the price for my slacker tendencies. It’s a 9-5 course okay. Alright, I have no excuse and only have myself to blame.

So this is my wake up call, and I thought I’d ensure that I had some seriously super foods today. I made it my business to have a few portions of fruit and veg for my dinner.

The following salad and smoothie combination is just great, in my opinion. It’s almost like having dessert with your dinner. And if you have a sweet-tooth like me, then you’re all set! Here we go!

Ingredients:Ā 

For the smoothie:

  • One banana sliced
  • An apple, chopped and cored
  • 2 tbsps of milled linseed mix
  • 250 mls orange and mango juice

For the salad:

  • One small apple or half of a large apple, sliced
  • 1 medium sized beetroot
  • handful of hazelnuts

For the dressing:

  • 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp walnut oil
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • pepper, to taste

Instructions:

For the smoothie:

  • Simply blend all ingredients together in a blender.
  • Serve in a pretty glass. šŸ™‚

For the dressing:

  • Mix the ingredients together in a small pouring jug.
  • Season to taste with crushed pepper.

For the salad:

  • Placed the sliced apple and beetroot on a plate.
  • Sprinkle the hazelnuts over the apple and beetroot.
  • Slowly drizzle the salad dressing over the plate.

This recipe yields one serving. My family aren’t big on salads, so when I do make them I only do enough for myself. I hope you like this as much as I do. šŸ™‚

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

