Vegan Spring Rolls

This was officially my first attempt at making spring rolls. So I thought, why not go all the way and make them vegan? Okay, so here is the story of why I decided to make spring rolls. You might not care much for this story, but I’ll tell it anyway. I was in Tesco with my momma and we got these boxes of duck reduced to 30 cent. Yes, 30 cent. We bought like five of them. And so in these boxes was a fresh half a duck, a pot of black bean sauce and a packet of rice wrappers. To cut a long story short – I didn’t care much for the duck, my palette does’t accommodate the strong flavour that it has. I didn’t like the sauce either. And I certainly didn’t appreciate the three different ingredients combined together. The texture was strange and it felt like it was getting stuck in my throat. Anyway, my little dog Pixie enjoyed the rest of the duck. So then I had all of these packets of rice wrappers left over. I froze them, not knowing what to do with them. Then one day, I googled what they could be used for, and plenty of spring roll recipes popped up. So I simply filled these rice wrappers with shredded veg that had been marinated in a sauce that I conjured up. I apologise for the awful photography in advance, I was in a rush so I took a quick photo. It’s so bad it might even turn you off making them. But do it! I promise, you won’t be disappointed. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • Rice wrappers
  • Shredded veg: garlic, carrot, courgette, mushroom, pepper
  • Sesame oil
  • Tomato sauce
  • Vinegar

Instructions:

  • Turn on the deep fat-fryer to a full heat..
  • Mix 2 tbsps of sesame oil, 2 tbsps tomato sauce and 1 tbsp vinegar together.
  • Shred all of the vegetables and mix with the marinade in a large bowl.
  • Fill a bowl with hot water, making sure that you can put your fingers in without scalding yourself!
  • Place the rice wrappers into the hot water one at a time, for 12 seconds each and then removing, filling with the vegetable mixture and then sealing like you would an envelope.
  • Fry in the hot oil until golden brown.
  • Serve with a side bowl of sweet chilli sauce and fresh coriander.Image
Leave a Reply

