Festive Halloween Pumpkin Soup with Croutons

I searched high and low for a pumpkin yesterday, and I eventually found a small one in my local Superquinn.

Image

I would have preferred a larger one, but I couldn’t be choosy. Besides, he was a cute little guy, and I plan on carving him soon (I’m a little late, I know). I had never cooked with pumpkin before and really really wanted to cook up some delicious pumpkin soup. I absolutely love butternut squash soup, so I assumed it wouldn’t be that different. It was even more delicious. I didn’t exactly skimp on the calories here, using a tub of double cream (shhhh, just this once). But I promise, it was sooooo worth it.

Ingredients – Serves 4:

300g pumpkin flesh

1 onion, chopped

2 baby potatoes, copped into chunks

500mls vegetable stock

200mls double cream

salt and pepper to taste

very tasty bread cut into small chunks, for the croutons

olive oil, for frying

Instructions:

  • Saute the onion in a tbsp of olive oil in a large saucepan, until fragrant.
  • Add the potato and pumpkin, adding more olive oil as required.
  • Fry for 8-10 minutes, or until the pumpkin really starts to soften.
  • Add the vegetable stock and season to taste with salt and pepper.
  • Bring to the boil and simmer for 15 minutes, or until the potato has softened.
  • Add the double cream and stir, and bring back to the boil.
  • Blend and return to the saucepan, if using a large blender.
  • Check the seasoning, and adjust to taste.

Image

For the croutons:

  • Add the chunks of bread to a frying pan, and fry in 2 tbsps of olive oil until they start to harden and turn crispy.

Image

To serve:

  • Ladle soup into bowls and sprinkle with the croutons.
  • Enjoy!

Image

Happy Halloween folks!

Leave a Reply

