Plum Cupcakes with added Spice

When I was small my mother never made cupcakes. They were buns. These buns would come in many varieties – chocolate, raisin, lemon, jam and coconut. She was quite an astounding cook, and still is. Although I have practically taken over her kitchen, my mother is still the best cook I know. But I will continue to scale the great baking ladder at which she is gracefully perched on top in all of her baking might.

And in my quest, I made the decision to create a fruity muffin, with a little spice. Thus, the plum spice cupcake was born. I had also bought a new cake tin (see food shots) and I thought that it would be rude not to fill it.

The house smelled of warm, comforting, fragrant nutmeg by the time I was finished, which was wonderful as it had been an extremely cold day. The cupcakes turned out beautifully. They were moist, spicy, fruity and fluffy and were luscious when I served them with a dollop of mascarpone cheese.

Food for the soul!

Ingredients:

  • 150g soya butter, softened
  • 140g dark muscovado sugar
  • 2 organic free-range eggs
  • 1 ½ tsp baking powder
  • A shake of ground nutmeg
  • 125g (1/2 cup) organic plain yoghurt
  • 3 ripe plums, thinly sliced

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 180C (160 fan, 350F, Gas 4). Line a muffin pan with paper cases.
  • Cream the butter and sugar in a large bowl until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs, one by one and beat well after each addition. Beat in the flour, baking powder, nutmeg and yoghurt.
  • Divide the batter into the paper cases and arrange the plum slices on top.
  • Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean.
  • Turn out onto a wire rack to cool.
  • Serve with mascarpone cheese.

ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

