Nourishing Celery Risotto

Risotto is awesome. There is something just so wonderful about a creamy, fluffy, seasonal risotto. I’m a huge fan of using fresh ingredients. Basil risotto, mushroom risotto and butternut squash risotto are among some of my favourites.

Now, I’ll tell you a secret. I am not the biggest fan of raw celery. My mom always used to attempt to coax me into eating raw celery when I was small, in an attempt to boost my immune system – I had the worst asthma. I was never impressed by the idea, and celery, even all of these years later, has failed to grow on me.

I had celery risotto for the first time when I travelled to Toronto to visit my sister Alex and her partner Brian. I think that we dined out every night, with the exception of this one. It was great to sit down to a meal that didn’t leave my stomach with a food baby.

Brian whipped up the most amazing celery risotto. It was fresh, flavourful and one of the best risottos I’ve ever tasted. I have to admit that I was a little alarmed when a risotto with celery being the prime ingredient was mentioned, but Alex and Brian assured me that I would fall in love with it. And fall in love with it I did. Brian is an amazing cook – I would have gladly paid for the risotto had we been in a restaurant. But we weren’t. Free risotto for me! 🙂 Most importantly, the dish gave me a love of cooked celery.

And so, I recently had a craving for Brian’s celery risotto. However, as Toronto is quite a journey away, I began my attempt at making a version that would be worthy of Brian’s.

It wasn’t quite as good as Brian’s, but rest assured that it was the next best thing.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups rice
  • 1 bunch of celery, finely chopped
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 litre vegetable stock
  • 50g parmesan, plus extra to garnish
  • salt and pepper
  • fresh parsley, to garnish

Method:

In a large saucepan, heat a few glugs of olive oil. Add the onion and celery and fry until the onion is translucent but not browned.

Add the rice, stirring thoroughly to coat and frying for approximately one minute.

Add enough stock until the rice is just covered.

Cook, stirring constantly, adding another ladleful of stock, repeating until the rice has cooked and the stock has been absorbed.

Once the rice is cooked, add the parmesan and stir until combined.

To serve, sprinkle with extra parmesan and fresh parsley.

SAM_0144

Leave a Reply

