One Year Blogiversary/Fresh Egg Pasta

Hello everyone! I have literally just logged on to discover that I set up this blog one year ago today. I completely forgot the date, so I’m currently sitting on my bed with a proud little grin on my face. Happy blogiversary, lovefoodlovefitnesslovelife! I love you just the way you are, but I hope that you’ll continuously progress into something even more wonderful. And thank you bloggers and non-bloggers alike for taking the time to read my blog. It’s your support and little comments here and there that motivate me every day. You’re all awesome people!

And so, I thought an Italian themed post would be an acceptable form of celebration, because if there’s anything in this world that I love more than baked goods, it’s pasta. Fresh egg pasta. Homemade fresh egg pasta. Mmmmmm.

This was my first time making fresh pasta. I genuinely never want to consume durum wheat pasta ever again, after eating this. The difference is ridiculous. It’s quite easy to make, but slightly time consuming. However, if you have a pasta roller, you can save your wrists from the turmoil of a rolling pin.

My sweet parents got me a pasta roller for my birthday – something that I’ve been longing to have in my possession for quite an amount of time. It’s beautiful. It has so many dials for making thin to extremely thin pasta. It also has a tagliatelle and fettuccine cutter.

I’ve used it twice upon receiving it. I’m still trying to achieve the perfect dough – but I feel like the more I make it, the more confident I feel with each batch of pasta that I cook and serve.

The ratio that I’ve adopted is basically one egg to every 100g of pasta flour used. It’s simple, making it impossible for even the most inexperienced cook to mess up. The results are everything that you could hope for in fresh pasta, and more.

Ingredients (Serves 2):

  • 200g pasta flour (add 100g for each extra person)
  • 2 large eggs (add 1 egg for each extra person)
  • pinch of salt

Method:

  • Place the flour and salt into a large mixing bowl.
  • Whisk the eggs, and slowly mix into the flour with your hands.
  • Using your hands, continue mixing until the mixture comes together.
  • Shape into a ball and turn out onto a lightly floured work surface.
  • Knead for 8-10 minutes, or until the dough is smooth, silky and has an elastic feel.
  • Wrap in cling film if not immediately using the dough, as it tends to dry out quickly.
  • Roll out a little and pass through your pasta maker per the manufacturers instructions.
  • Cook in salted boiling water for around 3-5 minutes, or until cooked through.

Image

Image

 

6 thoughts on “One Year Blogiversary/Fresh Egg Pasta

Leave a Reply

