Apple Pies

I cannot seem to stop informing everyone and anyone who will listen, that I love studying Culinary Arts. This is the road in life that I was meant to choose. I had stuck to studying Computer Forensics and Security for two years of my life. If I had stuck to completing the degree, then the road that I have now chosen would have been the road not taken.

I love that poem, The Road Not Taken, by Robert Frost. I studied it in school and it has stuck with me ever since. Whenever I make a decision, I think of this poem. To get completely of the topic of recipes, here is the beautiful poem which I write of:

TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth; 

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same, 

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back. 

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less travelled by,
And that has made all the difference. 

It’s beautiful, isn’t it? Yes, yes.

I am certainly delighted to have had the opportunity to venture along the second path, the one which I had originally turned down. I’m ridiculously happy and having a four hour pastry class with a lecturer who has previously worked in a Michelin star kitchen definitely contributes to this.

One the first day of pastry, I learned everything that there is to know about shortcrust pastry, sweet pastry and frangipane (almond cream). I had the pleasure of creating both bakewell and apple tarts that day. They were wonderful. I absolutely love apple pies, primarily the ones that my mother makes. She certainly, without a doubt, makes the best apple pies.

When I got home that night, I just had to whip up a batch of individual apple pies. You know, because I can. 🙂

Image

Shortcrust ingredients:

  • 30g self-raising flour
  • 90g plain flour
  • 30g butter
  • 30g margarine
  • 15g sugar
  • 15ml water

Method:

  1. Rub the butter and margarine into the flours until no lumps remain.
  2. Make a well in the centre and place the water and sugar into this.
  3. Mix the ingredients to a smooth paste.
  4. Turn out onto a lightly floured work surface and knead to a light, short dough.

Apple pie ingredients:

  • Shortcrust pastry
  • 480g cooking apples
  • 240g sugar

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C fan/190C/Gas 5 Grease a standard 12-hole muffin pan.
  2. Peel, core and wash the apples, chop into even sized cubes.
  3. Partly cook the apples in a saucepan with a little water and the sugar, set aside.
  4. Roll out the pastry and using a glass or a large pastry cutter, cut out 24 circles that have a diameter that is a little larger than the diameter of the muffin holes.
  5. Neatly place the circles of pastry inside the well-greased holes.
  6. Fill with the slightly stewed apple.
  7. Place another circle of pastry on top and press the two pieces firmly together with moist fingertips.
  8. Lightly brush the pies with eggwash.
  9. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until golden.

ImageImageImageImage

6 thoughts on “Apple Pies

  1. I have never heard that poem before and it is very beautiful. I will be committing that one to memory. You have a beautiful blog and those apple pies sounds divine. Nothing says autumn to me like a freshly cooked apple pie eaten on a day with the leaves turning and the last golden rays of sun light dipping stretching out from the horizon as the evening takes on a crispness.

  2. Pingback: PIE | Watching the Seasons Change

Leave a Reply

