Heavenly Cannoli Cheesecake

Image

I think it’s the texture of cheesecake that gets me every time. The smooth, stick-to-the-roof-of-your-mouth texture with the crumbly biscuit base goodness.

Whenever I go out to a restaurant for a meal, I often see a cheeseboard that is provided for those of you without a sweet tooth (glare!). I personally, would never in my life order such a dish as I like my food sweet and my desserts even sweeter. I feel that a cheesecake can cater to anyone’s needs. A cheesecake need not be overly sweet, as it can be adjusted accordingly.

It also doesn’t require making a mess in the kitchen. It can be a no-fuss dessert and even a no-bake one. If you’re short on time, go for a no-bake version and make it the night before. It will become firm in the fridge over night – just remember to omit the egg! But if you have the extra time, bake your cheesecake and bake it good!

I had only ever made no-bake cheesecakes. The concept of baking them seemed like a waste of time to me. Eventually I decided to put my time where my mouth is and bake one like I had never baked a cheesecake before. Well, I hadn’t. Until now.

I added passion fruit seeds for an exotic twist and some white chocolate too. If you’re going to do dessert, you might as well do it right. I made the base using amaretti biscuits and digestives. It was amazing. The texture of the entire cheesecake was beautiful. It was probably one of the best I’ve ever eaten.

Although I did have a wonderful mango and lime cheesecake at an Indian restaurant in Toronto during the Summer. It was light, fluffy, zingy, creamy and entirely memorable. It was just right after a satisfyingly heavy madras.

But yes, this cheesecake is perfect after a long day of work or study. Pair it with your favourite herbal tea, mine being Clipper’s Organic White Tea, and your evening will be a calm, relaxed and yummy one.

Ingredients:

For the base:

  • 75g butter, extra for greasing
  • 110g amaretti biscuits, blitzed
  • 110g digestive biscuits, blitzed

For the filling:

  • 200g white chocolate, broken into pieces
  • 600g full-fat cream cheese
  • 200g mascarpone
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • seeds of 4 passion fruits, plus extra for decoration

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 160C. Grease and line the base of a 20cm springform cake tin.
  2. Melt the butter in a heavy-based pan over a low heat. Once the butter has melted, stir in the amarettis and digestives until combined. Press into the base of the cake tin and place in the fridge to chill and set.
  3. Melt the white chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. Stir occasionally and remove once melted in order to cool slightly.
  4. Remove the cake tin from the fridge. In a mixing bowl, whisk the cream cheese,caster sugar and eggs until smooth, then add the mascarpone and vanilla and beat until combined. Fold through the melted chocolate. Pour into the cake in.
  5. Place in the preheated oven and bake for approximately 1 hour. After the hour, remove from the oven and ensure that the cheesecake is firm around the edges, then return to the oven, turn off the heat and leave to cool with the oven door slightly ajar. Once cool, transfer to the fridge for 3 hours to set and firm up.
  6. Serve with passion fruit seeds scattered on top.

ImageImageImageImage

2 thoughts on “Heavenly Cannoli Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

