Vanilla Fudge

Image

I recently invested in a sugar thermometer. I had planned on buying one for a long time, but it is a ridiculously hard thing to find in this crazy city. I finally gave in and ordered one from eBay. It was actually great value and great quality, so I am incredibly happy with my purchase. Having experienced many failed attempts at making fudge without a sugar thermometer, it was about time that I invested in one.

So I began what I think was my third or fourth time at making fudge. This time, I could see success on the horizon. I didn’t go for any too over the top fudge flavours, primarily due to the fear of wasting ingredients if the fudge did not set.

I have been to a number of food festivals and every year, without fail, there are one or two stands which are devoted entirely to fudge. An array of colours dazzled my eyes on the occasions when I did come across them. Bright pink, green, orange, yellow and rich chocolate brown fudges could be seen, purchased and devoured.Image

Despite all of this, I was still extremely excited to use my long-awaited sugar thermometer, on my slightly unoriginal fudge flavour. But honestly, I wouldn’t have changed it for the world.

The fudge was very fun and interesting to make. When the heat reached the required temperature on the thermometer, I felt confident that this batch would be the ground-breaking, successful batch. And successful it was.

The fudge was sweet, rich, slightly crumbly (I used margarine instead of butter) and it had that awesome texture that makes you crave more and more, while pushing all thoughts of guilt away.

Diet starts tomorrow. I promise. 🙂

Ingredients (Makes approximately 60 pieces):

  • 175g butter/margarine
  • 900g light brown sugar
  • 400g condensed milk
  • ½ tsp vanilla essence/extract, or to taste

Method:

  1. Line a 18 x 28cm baking pan with baking parchment/greaseproof paper.
  2. Place the butter/margarine into a large saucepan with 150ml water and warm gently over a low heat until the butter has fully melted.
  3. Add the sugar, continuously stirring over a low heat until it has completely dissolved.
  4. Raise the heat and bring the mixture to the boil.
  5. Boil hard until it reaches hard crack stage (168C) on a sugar thermometer.
  6. Remove from the heat and beat in the condensed milk with a wooden spoon.
  7. Return to a medium heat, stirring for a few minutes.
  8. Remove from the heat, beat in the vanilla essence/extract until the mixture is glossy.
  9. Pour the mixture into the prepared tin.
  10. Leave to cool.
  11. Once the mixture has cooled and set, cut into cubes and store in an airtight container.

If the correct packaging is used, homemade fudge can make the most beautiful gift for your loved ones. Mine certainly loved it. 🙂

ImageImage

5 thoughts on “Vanilla Fudge

Leave a Reply

