Freshly Fried Jam Doughnuts

Image

The first time I had a fresh doughnut was in one of my pastry classes last semester. It was soft, warm, fluffy, sugary and oozed jam when I bit into it. It was awesome. The shop-bought doughnuts don’t even slightly compare. They are way too hard and dry. You haven’t tasted a real doughnut until you’ve made them yourself. Sure, making the dough is a little time-consuming, but think of it as a workout. Unless you have a mixer, in which case you will have the option of taking the easy way out.

Filling these little guys with the jam of your choice and sealing them up so that the jam is no longer visible, is wonderfully satisfying. I went with plain ole’ strawberry, but I also love blackberry jam and I think that I’ve yet to have it in a doughnut. I used my favourite jam – Bonne Maman. I know, I should really be making my own. Shame on me. But the jam is so damn good!

I get a little bit anxious when I place the doughnuts into the deep-fryer. I hope with all of my heart that the jam won’t seep out and ruin the oil. Momma would not be impressed.

Once the doughnuts have cooked through, they are rolled in caster sugar. I promise you, they won’t make it through the night. Mine certainly didn’t.

Ingredients (Makes 8):

  • 300g strong flour
  • 7g sachet fast action dried yeast
  • 60ml milk and water
  • 1 egg
  • 50g butter or margarine
  • 25g caster sugar

Method:

  1. Sieve the flour into a bowl.
  2. Make a well in the centre of the flour.
  3. Add the yeast, the beaten egg, the butter or margarine, the sugar and the remainder of the liquid. Knead well until smooth and free from stickiness.
  4. Keep covered and allow to prove in a warm place, until doubled in size.
  5. Knock back and divide into 8 pieces.
  6. Mould into balls. Press a thumb into each and add a little jam to each hole. Seal the jam into the doughnut.Image
  7. Cover and allow to prove on a well-floured tray.
  8. Deep-fry in hot fat, roughly 180C, for approximately 10 minutes (5 minutes on each side).
  9. Carefully lift out of the fat, drain and roll in caster sugar.

Image

2 thoughts on “Freshly Fried Jam Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

