Valentines Shortbread Jam Hearts

I am a sucker for Valentine’s Day! I welcome any excuse to show someone how much I love them. I am a retailers dream come true. The same goes for Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Christmas and Easter. I don’t know how or when to stop. My bank balance wishes I would. But life is too short for that nonsense. The people in my life are there to be loved and spoiled. So love and spoil them I shall.

Yes, I am one of those people that buys the cutest and cheesiest Valentine’s card of all time. It brings me joy and is a guilty pleasure of mine. I picked out presents for Ben that I hope he will adore. I also made some delectable edible treats, because I really do think it’s expected of me at this stage (pastry chef and culinary arts student that I am).

I could spend hours browsing the web, absorbing all of the beautiful Valentine’s baked goods that it has to offer. It’s a celebration of love. Where would we be without it? The world can sometimes be a bad place but it can also be wonderful. Life is what you make of it. On a day like the 14th of February, life and love can be celebrated.

So why not get into the kitchen and make your loved one an edible present which has been made with love?

Happy Valentine’s Day! ❤

Image

Shortbread Hearts

Ingredients:

  • 150g plain flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 100g butter or margarine
  • 50g caster sugar
  • Strawberry or raspberry jam
  • Icing sugar, for dusting

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. Sift the flour and salt into a mixing bowl.
  3. Mix the butter and sugar into the flour.
  4. Combine all the ingredients until a smooth paste has been formed.
  5. Dust a work surface with flour and roll the dough carefully into a rectangle until it’s around 0.5cm thick.
  6. Using two different sized heart-shaped cutters, cut 8 full large hearts out of the dough. Using the smaller cutter, cut a small heart shape out of the middle of four of the hearts. Continue to cut small hearts out of the leftover dough until it has all been used.
  7. Using your fingers, or a palette knife, move the shortbread hearts onto a floured baking sheet.
  8. Bake for around 8-10 minutes. Once slightly firm, remove from the oven, carefully remove from the baking sheet with a palette knife and place on a wire rack (the hearts will continue to cook as they cool).
  9. Once cooled, spread the large hearts with jam and neatly place the hollow hearts on top. Dust with icing sugar.
  10. I covered the little hearts with red icing and some gold and pink sugar.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

