Flavoursome Courgette and Garlic Soup

Image

Garlic. Garlic. Garlic. Mmmmm.

Whenever I’m out and about, wandering around, I can smell it. It’s always there. Whether I pass Ginos, Espresso, La Palma or any eatery, the story is the same. The smell of garlic is wafting like it has never wafted before.

I add garlic to all of my dishes. It’s even better if it’s organic garlic. But beggars can’t be choosers! Any garlic will suffice. 

One day Ben and I went out for lunch with his parents. We went to the most beautiful cafe I have ever been to. Their soup of the day was a courgette and garlic soup. It’s so refreshing to see an interesting soup on the menu. The usual vegetable, mushroom, and tomato and basil concoctions are tiresome. I would never ordinarily order soup when I eat, especially when the soups aren’t anything out of the ordinary. This day was a sunny one and the sunshine shone through the glass, heating me up. This meant that I chose not to order soup. Perhaps, had it been a cold, dull day, I would have opted for it. However, Ben daringly went for the courgette and garlic soup with a panini. I of course, had to slurp some. It was probably the most perfectly balanced soup I’ve ever had.

It was light and fragrant and it hit the palette in all the right ways. The garlic was strong, but not overpowering. The courgette was as simple and subtle as ever, but it could still be detected amidst the garlic party. What isn’t there to love about courgette? It tastes of health and it doesn’t spend a lifetime on the hips. Three cheers for courgettes!

Anyway, I tried my best to recreate the deliciousness that was this bowl of soup. I was unsure as to whether the chef had roasted the garlic and the courgette or not. I skipped this process and merely chucked everything into the pot. Surprisingly, my own version was close in flavour to that of the cafe’s. I added a little bit of ginger and organic creme fraiche at the end because it was missing a little something. The addition of these ingredients did it for me. 

Hopefully this pot of soup will do it for you too. 🙂

Ingredients (Serves 4):

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 5-6 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 2 large courgettes, cut into chunks
  • 750ml vegetable stock
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tbsp creme fraiche
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Method:

  1. Heat the oil in a large pan.
  2. Add the onion and garlic and cook on a low-medium heat until fragrant. Do not allow the garlic to burn.
  3. Add the courgette and the stock.
  4. Bring to the boil.
  5. Cover and simmer for approximately 30 minutes.
  6. Transfer to a blender and blend until smooth.
  7. Return to the pan and adjust the seasoning.
  8. Add the ginger and the creme fraiche.
  9. Bring to the boil. 
  10. Serve and enjoy. 

ImageImage

2 thoughts on “Flavoursome Courgette and Garlic Soup

  1. That looks wonderful! I just made Soupe à l’oignon, and am looking for other soup ideas to combat the unseasonably cold weather. I suppose it’s the winter equivalent of making lemonade. 🙂

Leave a Reply

