The Best Nectarine Ice-Cream

To me, this ice-cream screams Summer. It is the definition of indulgence on a hot August day which just happen to be in abundance this Summer, to my utter delight.

Honestly, hot Summers have been far and few between in Ireland over the past few years. I often find myself diving in front of the electric fan, who also happens to be my new most valued companion, in the hope that I will cool down somewhat. It provides temporary relief to the abnormal heat, but once I venture back outside, all past efforts to control my temperature are forgotten.

Ice is a reliable friend too! I have a new found love for it. Actually, anything frozen receives a well earned pat on the back from me, a job well done for dwelling within the depths of the deep freeze. However, there is a clear winner – my heart lies with ice-cream. But only a fruit variety will do the trick during this insurmountable heat.

On a normal day, a cool one that is, chocolate or caramel ice-cream satisfies my cravings. At this moment in time, it’s all about fruits that are at their best this season. Nectarines and peaches are my favourite fruits to enjoy during hot Summer months. So I thought, why not use one of these delicious fruits as a main ingredient in cold, creamy ice-cream?SAM_0098

I decided to be brave and opt for a nectarine flavoured ice-cream. There is one problem however, which makes me hesitant about indulging in a bowl of it for dessert or as a naughty, unforgivable snack. This problem is the ordeal when it comes to using an ice cream scoop.

Okay, I agree, I should probably, most definitely allow the ice-cream to thaw ever so slightly before I attempt to remove a scoop from the tub. I also probably should refrain from using an ice-cream scoop which I have purchased from a bargain shop, as dark things will inevitably happen.

One day, my prayers were answered when I visited www.vikingdirect.ie and I realised that they now stock cooking supplies for the budding/keen cook. On this website, I stumbled across an original Zeroll Ice-Cream Scoop – one of which I’ve always wanted. It has heat conductive fluid sealed within the handle, to make the whole experience even more awesome! They’re truly wonderful scoops and an absolute pleasure to use. We use two of these scoops in college and they are closely guarded by lecturers and coveted by students who use them for not only creating a perfect scoop of ice-cream but also for a flawless scoop of mashed potato.

SAM_0110

I am now a Culinary Queen as I have one all to myself! Considering that Viking Direct is an Irish business which is close to home, I knew that this product would arrive very swiftly. It was probably the fastest delivery I have ever experienced. I soon buried my head and got to work on making a batch of nectarine ice-cream. Soon after this, I was serving it with my new ice-cream scoop like there was no tomorrow.

I have one in my possession and you should too! It’s now one of my most valued utensils. So get into your kitchen, get that ice-cream maker going, invest in a decent ice-cream scoop and whip up some nectarine ice-cream. It will make your Summer just that little bit more special. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 5 nectarines, washed, peeled and cored
  • 2 free-range eggs
  • 180g sugar
  • 500ml cream
  • 100ml milk

Method:

  1. In a blender, place the nectarine flesh and the milk. Blend until smooth and combined.
  2. Weigh the milk mixture and ensure that the combined weight reaches 240ml. This will depend on the weight of your nectarines. If the mixture is too light, add milk until the desired weight is reached. If the mixture is too heavy, remove liquid until the desired weight is reached.
  3. Whisk the eggs in a mixing bowl until light and fluffy (1 to 2 minutes).
  4. Whisk in the sugar until completely blended (1 to 2 minutes).
  5. Pour in the cream and milk and whisk until combined.
  6. Place the mixture in your ice-cream maker per the manufacturer’s instructions.

SAM_0105

SAM_0102

 

Leave a Reply

